What the future holds

We’ll, life changing events don’t come much more comprehensive that a 65th birthday, if you’re an airline pilot. 

In Europe, EASA and in the USA< the FAA, both use the outmoded concept of age discrimination to end the career of an airline pilot at 65. The rules are bizarre, frankly. Suddenly, it’s not OK to fly for an airline despite passing all medicals, simulator and line checks. However, I could still fly a Boeing 777 – as long as it was a private 777. From 60-65, I could not fly with a similarly aged co-pilot. Now, post 65, I could fly that private 777 with another 65+ co-pilot. Indeed, post 60 I could not fly single pilot airline ops. Now, I could fly non-public transport single crew. 

A mole tells me they might look into cleaning up that regulatory mess – next year – which will, of course, be too late for me. So July saw me retiring from British Airways after 44 years and 8 months. I would have loved to make that 45 year anniversary in November but it wasn’t to be. 

I don’t have a crystal ball (though many think I’m a witch but that’s another story) so I’m still in the realms of speculation but I do have some plans. 

First, my fledgling company, Catherine Burton Consulting Ltd., which sees me monetising my speaking skills. I’m available to companies, government departments, organisations, charities, universities, colleges and schools at rates that vary from full commercial to 100% discount (I love inspiring school pupils far too much to price myself out of that market). I’ll inspire, motivate, move and amuse any audience, large or small, and in any setting from a theatre to a classroom to after a dinner. My talks have gone down well with F1 trainee doctors, company leadership teams and HR professionals and, of course, school pupils of all ages. 

Catherine Burton Consulting Ltd is also my vehicle for getting back to the grass roots of my flying. I’m about to embark on a Flying Instructor course and will then freelance instruct in any capacity for which my experience and ratings will allow. 

Of course, that private 777 would be nice. Or any other private type that needs a professional pilot. I’ve got every Boeing on my license from 737-200 to 787 but I quite fancy a nice Global Express. Or, to the horror of some of my erstwhile colleagues, I quite fancy getting my hands on a PC-12. 

I’ve had a couple of magazine features lately, at Runway Girl and at Aviation Wales, both of which were very flattering. 

I still work for numerous charities, most notably on the boards of Race Equality First and Trans Media Watch, and as a volunteer role model for Diversity Role Models

I’m happy to receive requests to join other boards, whether they be charity volunteer positions or paid non-executive directorships. 

Retired? I don’t think so. 

Cat Burton

catherine.burton@burtie.com

catherine.burton@catherineburton.consulting

+44 7900 808477

What the future holds

Leave a comment